Jabari Walks

SOLC DAY 12

An ode to Jabari our seventh grandson

Midwinter born

Swaddled in muslin

Tiny head cocooned like a gumnut;

We strolled the streets of Maylands,

Braved icy winds

Under vivid blue winter skies

Mostly home before you cried, fussed

Or fidgeted your crimped hands

Out of your animal patterned wrap.

Now you sing your praise

Of midsummer warmth

Da-da-da-ma-ma-ma!

Stretch out chubby fingers

As we stroll past hedges

Of fragrant rosemary

And flame red bougainvillea;

Sucking your favourite plastic keys

Or spinning the bead filled turtle.

Oh Jabari, nine months already

Of love-filled walks

Watching you thrill

Seeing you grow

Day by day.

Month after month.

Jabari means ‘brave’ in Swahili – his dad is from Kenya.

GRATITUDE DAY 12

I am grateful to be so close to a grandchild this time round which means I get to see him almost daily and he recognises me (I have a flashback memory of another grandson whom I met up with briefly once in Malaysia, while I was teaching overseas, He his behind his mum’s legs and exclaimed, ‘Mum, who IS that??’)!!

15 thoughts on “Jabari Walks

  1. I love this slice. It is a tribute to how much you love your grandson. Thank you for explaining the meaning behind the name ‘Jabari’. The protagonist for the picture book Jabari Jumps is brave. The author obviously chose the name with care. (as I am sure the parents of your grandchild did)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for reading and your comments. I suddenly realised that’s how my title came, as I’m very familiar with Jabari Jumps and Jabari Tries, both of which have been given to the Jabari in my life!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Beautiful poem of the love for your grandchild. I had to read it because I love the book Jabari Jumps. Thank you for sharing the meaning of the name. I can’t wait to share it with my students. I use the book to teach theme to my second graders.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Jabari is beautiful. Gorgeous hair! My grandson is eight months old, but no photos allowed on social media. I want to show him off and can’t! 😩 Keep loving and spoiling that baby w/ walks and grandma time!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I can understand you would like to show yours off too! Jabari has a minute presence on social media, so his parents aren’t concerned. They are more intent on keeping him away from media, so he isn’t allowed to look at any screens and they don’t have a TV. I will definitely keep giving him as much grandma time as possible!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for reading… I consider myself lucky too, that I happen to be so close by,,, and yes, his hair is always being commented on. It does get quite knotted at times and we are wondering how curly it’s going to end up.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Celia, I celebrate alongside you the unparalleled joy of having grandchildren nearby. Jabari is beautiful – look at all that glorious hair! Reminds me of my youngest son’s when he was little. The rich descriptions and vivid images in your ode paint such a clear portrait of love. The note at the end about the grandchild who didn’t know you at first wrenched my heart a good bit, too.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Thanks for reading and commenting. Yes, it is a joy beyond compare, especially as I was much further away from all my other grandsons as they grew up, which is why Max didn’t recognise me. At least I catch up with him quite regularly now for a chat about life in high school.

    Like

Leave a comment