Distant Memories

Day 30 SOL19

Today I heard the cuckoo
Calling from afar
Its silver notes herald
Memories of growing up
On a distant tiny island
with four distinct seasons.

The land that shaped lyrical poets –
Wordsworth, Keats and Blake,
A wealth of exquisite painters –
Turner, Hogarth and Reynolds,
An endless feast of renowned authors –
Dickens, Austen, Hardy and Lewis,
All so quintessentially English.
Not to mention SHAKESPEARE.

I miss ‘seasons of mist and mellow fruitfulness’
And ‘the host of golden daffodils’.
I miss carpets of primroses
blooming in springtime woods
and redbreasted robins, larks and linnets
fluttering over fields of bluebells
and flurries of snowdrops.

When the cuckoo calls
I miss the land where I grew up.

                 snowdrop-poisoning

A Note on this Piece

I grew up in England which is where I last heard a cuckoo, there don’t seem to be any in Australia. I’d almost forgotten about them till we came here to north east India.

slice-of-life_individual

6 thoughts on “Distant Memories

  1. This is such a beautiful way to reflect on something specific that reminds you of home, the sound of the cuckoo. This line: “Its silver notes herald Memories of growing up.” Gorgeous verse! Thank you for this!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. LOVE this memory poem!! “I miss carpets of primroses blooming in springtime woods” This really creates a picture for me. So many great lines that connect with your past and memories.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment